books like percy jackson

Books Like Percy Jackson: 14 Super Series to Read Next

It’s never a terrible idea to reread the Percy Jackson books a hundred times. However, we can help if you want to look into other books similar to Percy Jackson.

If you know a middle grade book lover who has read the Kane Chronicles, the complete Percy Jackson, and the Olympians series, plus the most recent Magnus Chase book… Fear not, we are here to assist!

Even the most devoted Percy Jackson fans will find a couple of the new character-driven series we’ve chosen to be entertaining.

The show is very enjoyable, amusing, and addicting. The heroic expeditions and battles, vicious legendary creatures, unexpected story twists, and funny Greek mythology allusions that Percy Jackson engages in have won over millions of readers.

Here are 14 more books that are similar to that. These 15 Percy Jackson-like books are perfect for binge-reading.

1. Pandava Series by Roshani Chokshi

books like percy jackson

This fantasy trilogy opens with Aru Shah and the End of Time, which follows the 12-year-old main character as she waits for her mother to return from her most recent archeological expedition at the Museum of Ancient Indian Art and Culture while dreaming up tales about a fantasy life.

When she claims that the Lamp of Bharata is cursed and three of her classmates don’t believe her, Aru lights it and summons the Sleeper, an ancient demon whose mission it is to awaken the God of Destruction.

She is aware of how to defeat the demon, but how is one young woman going to track down the five mythical Pandava brothers’ reincarnations and travel across the Kingdom of Death?

The first two books in this series, as well as the epic beginning, are not to be missed.

2. Atlantis Saga Series by T. A. Barron

books like percy jackson

We have explored mythology from all over the world and looked for Incan artifacts, but let’s not overlook the Lost City of Atlantis.

A young boy named Promi and his friend Atlanta team up to protect their home from the devastation of a war between the spirit and human worlds in the opening pages of the first book in the Atlantis Saga series, which takes place in Ellegandia.

3. Charlie Hernández Series by Ryan Calejo

books like percy jackson

Charlie Hernández has always enjoyed the myths and tales his Abuela used to tell him, but he was a realist and never saw anything but fiction in them.

But he is unsure of what to accept as he begins to exhibit bizarre physical traits and his life begins to resemble Hispanic mythology.

Charlie soon becomes involved in a conflict between good and evil and must seek the aid of his longtime love in order to find out what is wrong with him, locate his parents, and, if time permits, figure out how to rescue the world.

Charlie Hernández & the Castle of Bones is the next installment in the series.

4. Dragons in a Bag Series by Zetta Elliott

books like percy jackson

Jax is asked to assist in the safe delivery of newborn dragons to a magical world after learning that the nasty old woman he mistakenly believed to be his grandmother is actually a witch.

The only two restrictions are to keep the dragons in the bag and to not feed them anything sweet, but what happens when he and his buddies Vikram and Kavita disobey one of those rules?

The Dragon Thief, the second book in the series, maintains the thrill.

5. The Chronicles of Egg Series by Geoff Rodkey

books like percy jackson

This action-packed book series is beloved by Rick Riordan, who describes it as “Lemony Snicket meets Pirates of the Caribbean with a dash of Tom Sawyer for good measure.”

After growing up on Deadweather Island, anything seems gorgeous, thus poor Egg finds himself the target of a death target on the ritzy Sunrise Island, surrounded by pirates and other nefarious characters.

To Egg himself, it should come as no small surprise that he has the means to save himself and continue on with his exploits.

6. An Epic Series of Failures by Chris Rylander

books like percy jackson

Greg Belmont is the right choice for Percy Jackson fans who enjoy a little humor with their action. Greg, who is self-effacing and in general unfortunate, is surprised when his adorable eccentric dad tells him that he is a Dwarf and that magic is returning.

However, it’s not all a happy family: with the revival of magic, the Elves are back as well, and so is the long-standing conflict between the two groups. Greg learns about his ancestry from other Dwarves who congregate in the Underground.

7. Artemis Fowl by Eion Colfer

books like percy jackson

Twelve-year-old wealthy, genius, and criminal mastermind Artemis Fowl has found a planet below the earth populated by highly advanced, deadly, and armed fairies.

He kidnaps Holly Short, one of them, and holds her captive for a ransom in order to regain his family’s money.

But he has no idea what he is getting into. Is he poised to launch a war between species? These are not the fairies from fairy tales.

The eight-book Artemis Fowl series is a magnificent classic full of action, magic, adventure, and humor that will keep you occupied for a very long time.

8. The Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan

books like percy jackson

Seven demigods—half mortals, half gods—are foretold in a prophecy to protect the Earth from the earth goddess Gaia, who seeks retribution on the Olympian gods.

However, there is a catch: some demigods are Greek, while others are Roman, and the two groups have been in conflict for a very long time. To defeat Gaia and her army of giants and monsters, they will need to battle together.

9. Gods of Manhattan Series by Scott Mebus

books like percy jackson

Although cool, New York City isn’t particularly noteworthy, right? Rory Hennessy initially believed this before learning about Mannahatta, a magical, mysterious city that coexists with Manhattan and is ruled by the Gods of Manhattan, which weirdly enough also include Babe Ruth.

Things turn out to be far riskier than Rory ever anticipated, as he is forced to make up for a significant mistake.

10. Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky by Kwame Mbalia

books like percy jackson

Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky by best-selling author Rick Riordan is the first installment of an epic fantasy trilogy that examines African mythology.

Tristan Strong, a seventh-grader, feels incredibly weak after failing to save his best buddy from a bus crash and discovering that all that is left of him is his journal.

His closest friend’s notebook is then taken from him on the first night as he recovers at his grandfather’s property in Alabama.

He strikes a tree and unintentionally makes a hole in the Midpass as he struggles to get the journal out of the creature’s grasp. Tristan discovers himself in the middle of a conflict between African-American gods and old African gods.

11. The Storm Runner by J.C. Cervantes

books like percy jackson

In The Storm Runner, a middle schooler named Zane spends much of his time exploring a nearby dormant volcano, which, unbeknownst to him, is a portal to another realm

. When a mysterious girl informs him one day that he would be responsible for freeing an evil deity from the volcano, chaos starts to happen.

His father is one of the gods involved in the all-out battle that he is forced into. Zane must turn into the Storm Runner if he is to live.

With its epic adventure, tenacious protagonists, and ruthless demons, The Storm Runner is destined to fill the vacuum left by Percy Jackson.

12. Gregor the Overlander by Suzanne Collins

books like percy jackson

Despite writing engaging middle-grade fantasy books, best-selling author Suzanne Collins is most recognized for her Hunger Games series.

Gregor the Overlander is similar to Alice in Wonderland, but instead of finding a tea party down the rabbit hole, he discovered a gloomy Underland where spiders, rats, and cockroaches live awkwardly with people.

A little kid named Gregor finds himself in the center of war in the novel, which is placed in the shadowy world beneath New York City, and his being there is no accident.

He sets off on a perilous trip that will forever alter both him and the Underland.

13. Thrones and Bones: Frostborn by Lou Anders

books like percy jackson

Karn and Thianna are introduced to us in this action-packed series with Viking influences.

Karn is a little kid who prefers to play the board game Thrones and Bones than help out on the family farm, and Thianna is a giantess who is also part human.

They must band together to survive a 1,500-year-old dragon, Helltoppr the undead warrior and his undead henchmen, a cruel uncle, wyverns, and other trolls and giants when family tensions compel them to flee into the wilderness.

To protect their families from harm, they travel to an unfamiliar area.

14. Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor

books like percy jackson

Akata Witch tells a lovely story of magic, mystery, and finding one’s place in the world, earning it the nickname “the Nigerian Harry Potter.”

Sunny, a 12-year-old albino girl who was born in America but now resides in Nigeria, is the main character of the novel. Until she discovers she has magical skills and joins a group of students on a quest for knowledge, she finds it difficult to fit in.

You can learn about African traditional tribes’ tales, magic, and other cultural artifacts by reading this book. Fans of both the Harry Potter and Percy Jackson series will enjoy this fascinating novel, which is appropriate for all age groups.

15. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K Rowling

books like percy jackson

Without mentioning Harry Potter, this list of books would not be complete, right?

The phenomenon that is Harry Potter has turned millions of readers into lifelong devotees.

Harry Potter, who is an orphan and has a challenging life similar to Percy Jackson’s, realizes one day that he is a wizard and enrols in the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. He will engage in combat with the universe’s most formidable evil lord.

Check out this list of Harry Potter books if you want to delve deeper into the series than just the first seven volumes.

Which one are you going to read next? Let us know in the comment section!

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.